bestemailfindertool.com
Method 2026.10 · Last updated 2026-10-16 · Lawful B2B contact only · No method for bypassing opt-outs, DNC or platform limits
Head-to-head

Apollo vs Hunter: Free Plans, Per-Seat Billing and Opt-Out Terms (2026)

Apollo.io and Hunter compared on the fields we could verify: free allowance, list prices, credit expiry, data-source and opt-out statements. Verdict first, with limits.

By bestemailfindertool.com Editorial team · Published 2026-10-16 · Fields captured 2026-10-16

Use boundary: this comparison reports what two vendors publish about their products, for B2B contact that complies with GDPR, CAN-SPAM, CCPA and local rules, and that honors every opt-out and do-not-call request. In this article, an email finder means a commercial lookup product that returns the work address tied to one specific professional. It is not a tool for locating a private address. A credit is the usage unit each vendor sets for itself, so credit counts are compared only within one vendor’s own pages.

Verdict

Hunter suits one person or a small group that wants a recurring monthly free allowance and plain wording about where its data comes from. Apollo.io suits a sales team that buys seats and needs every scored field verified. On our 2026 method, Hunter scores 88.2 and Apollo.io scores 78.0. The gap is provisional, because Hunter has five of seven dimensions verified and Apollo.io has seven of seven.

Scorecard

Field Hunter Apollo.io Where to check
Free allowance 50 credits per month 900 credits per seat per year, granted monthly Hunter pricing, Apollo pricing
Entry paid plan $49 per month list; $34 per month billed annually $49 per seat per month, billed annually same pages
Mid paid plan Growth $149 per month ($104 billed annually) Professional $79 per seat per month, billed annually same pages
Unused credits Reset monthly, do not roll over Expire at the end of each billing cycle pricing FAQ text
Data-source statement Public web sources; data with no public source is removed Not publicly disclosed on the pages read Hunter data page
Opt-out route Claim your email address to remove your details Opt-out request through the privacy centre Apollo privacy centre
Do-not-call screening Not publicly disclosed on the pages read Suppression list mentioned; DNC screening not stated official pages
Coverage wording Describes daily visits to web pages, no count Slogan “240M contacts & 30M companies” (vendor claim, not scored) official pages
Dimensions verified 5 of 7 7 of 7 method 2026.10
Score 88.2 (provisional) 78.0 method 2026.10

Where Hunter leads

Hunter’s free allowance recurs at 50 credits a month, and its entry plan is listed at $49 monthly, or $34 a month when billed annually. A single user who will not spend the whole allowance each month can plan around a reset that happens on a known date. Its data page also explains that data with no public source is removed, which is a concrete statement a buyer can check.

Where Apollo.io leads

Of the pair, Apollo.io is the one with every scored dimension verified. Its free allowance of 900 credits per seat per year is granted monthly, which works out to 75 credits a month per seat. Its privacy centre describes a request route for opt-out, and its paid plans are priced per seat, so a team can see the cost of each user before it commits.

What the score does and does not show

The score is a weighted mean over the dimensions that could be verified, scaled to 100. It is not a rating of product quality. Hunter’s total rests on five dimensions. If its integration and seat terms were verified and scored low, its total would fall, and if they scored high, it would rise. Apollo.io’s total rests on all seven, so its figure reflects a complete read of the fields this method uses. The honest reading is that the gap of 10.2 points is not yet a settled difference. Confirm Hunter’s team and integration terms, and confirm Apollo.io’s monthly-billed price, before you treat the gap as meaningful.

A buying sequence

  1. Open both free plans and check that the monthly allowance matches the pricing page.
  2. Read the credit rule on each pricing page and write down the reset or expiry date you will rely on.
  3. Find the opt-out route on each privacy page and confirm that it loads.
  4. Ask each vendor, in writing, about do-not-call screening and the markets it covers.
  5. Only then compare paid tiers, using the billing basis shown on each page.

How the fields were captured

Each value was read from the vendor’s own pricing and privacy pages on 2026-10-16. Vendor statements are labelled as vendor statements. Limits: the monthly-billed Apollo.io price was not verified in this run, Hunter’s integration and seat terms were not verified, and so Hunter’s score covers five dimensions. We did not test either product, and we did not check either data set for accuracy. Every weight and sub-score is listed on the methodology page.

FAQ

Is Hunter or Apollo.io better for a small team?

On the fields verified in this run, Hunter scores higher, 88.2 against 78.0, but it has five of seven dimensions verified and Apollo.io has all seven. Apollo.io's per-seat pricing makes team cost easier to plan. Test both free plans before you buy a paid tier.

Do unused credits carry over from one month to the next?

Hunter's pricing page says credits reset monthly and do not roll over. Apollo.io's pricing FAQ says unused credits expire at the end of each billing cycle. Read both pages again before you set a budget, because vendor terms change.

Does either vendor publish an accuracy rate that this site relies on?

No. Both sites carry coverage or accuracy language, and this comparison does not score it, because those figures are vendor claims that we did not check independently.

Where to go next

Back to the 2026 ranking · the scoring method · the fixed 2026 record · all comparisons and guides.

↑